Eleanor Catton Wins 2013 Booker Prize

Eleanor Catton, a 28-year-old writer from New Zealand, today won the 2013 Booker Prize, a highly touted award given to the best work of fiction published in the UK or one of the former British colonies. Starting next year, American authors will also be eligible to compete for the Booker Prize. At 28, Catton becomes the youngest winner of the prize, which is now in its 45th year of existence.

At BHS, we are proud to offer a healthy selection of Booker Prize winners:

William Golding, author of The Lord of the Flies, won the Booker in 1980 with his novel, Rites of Passage
Kazuo Ishiguro’s 1989 Booker winner, The Remains of the Day is slated to become a part of our senior year curriculum within the next two years. Ishiguro’s novel, Never Let Me Go, is already a core novel in our Contemporary Literature elective.
Graham Swift, Salman Rushdie and Ian McEwan have all had some of their short fiction appear in the Contemporary Literature elective.
Yann Martel’s Life of Pi, a new option for our sophomores as of this year, won the Booker in 2002.
And Julain Barnes’s The Sense of an Ending, which won the award in 2011, is making its debut in Contemporary Literature this year.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s