2014 Booker Prize Winner Announced

The Man Booker Prize today announced their winner of the 2014 prize, and this year’s winner is:

Richard Flanagan for The Narrow Road to the Deep North

For more information about this year’s winner, CLICK HERE

This marks only the third time that an Australian author has won this prestigious award.

As noted back in July, we at BHS feature several Booker-winning and Booker-nominated novels and novelists, including:

Life of Pi (2002 Booker Prize winner – Sophomore option)
The Sense of an Ending (2011 Booker Prize winner – Contemporary Literature)
The Reluctant Fundamentalist (Shortlist – 2007 – AP Literature)
Never Let Me Go (Shortlist – 2005 – Contemporary Literature)
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time (Longlist – 2003 – Sophomore summer reading)
The Handmaid’s Tale (Shortlist – 1986 – British Literature summer reading)

Other Booker-nominated authors whom we teach at BHS include:
William Golding* (Lord of the Flies – freshmen)
Jhumpa Lahiri (Interpreter of Maladies – sophomores)
Salman Rushdie* (The Prophet’s Hair – short story – Contemporary Literature)
Graham Swift* (Seraglio – short story – Contemporary Literature)
* = Former Booker Prize winner

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s