The 2016 Nobel Prize Winner in Literature is… Bob Dylan?

In a surprising announcement today, the Nobel Prize for Literature has been awarded to Bob Dylan, American singer and songwriter. The selection is unusual and controversial both because this is the first time a songwriter has ever earned this award, and because of how relatively rare it is for an American to win this award. Until today, there had been only eight American winners:

US Nobel laureates in literature

Sinclair Lewis, 1930
Eugene Gladstone O’Neill, 1936
Pearl Buck, 1938
TS Eliot, 1948
William Faulkner, 1949
Ernest Miller Hemingway, 1954
John Steinbeck, 1962
Toni Morrison, 1993

For more details of this surprising announcement, including responses from within the literary world, CLICK HERE

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s